Shrimp Fishermen on horseback 2020

eventsJune - September

The Shrimp Fishing on Horseback event in Oostduinkerke was added to the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity in December 2013 by UNESCO. Fishing on horse back is a tradition that exists for over 500 years. The Fishermen on horseback, who are sitting quite high on their tough looking horses are still admired by everyone as they are laboriously plowing through the waves.

The shrimp fishermen meet together on the beach with their horses. Then the nets are being attached, and the fishermen on horseback put on their traditional clothes; yellow raincoats, high boots, and a sou'wester on their heads.
Each horse gets a basket hooked on either side to the wooden saddle, it's where the catch is being kept. About two hours before low tide is the perfect time for the shrimp fishermen to go with their horses in the sea.
When the shrimp fishermen return to the beach three hours later the nets are emptied. They throw all crabs, fish and jellyfish that got stuck in the nets back into the sea. The shrimp catch itself is sieved, and all the sand is washed off.

During those months on the calendar, they depart from the Astridplein. Then this secondary occupation gets the value of a centuries-old tradition again.

2019
Sat. 6 Apr 2019-08.30 hrs
Wed. 10 Apr 2019-10.30 hrs
Sat. 13 Apr 2019-13.30 hrs
Mon. 22 Apr 2019-09.30 hrs
Mon. 29 Apr 2019-16.00 hrs
Tue. 7 May 2019-09.00 hrs
Sat. 11 May 2019-12.00 hrs
Wed. 22 May 2019-09.45 hrs
Thu. 30 May 2019-16.45 hrs
Sat. 8 Jun 2019-11.00 hrs
Thu. 20 Jun 2019-09.30 hrs
Thu. 27 Jun 2019-14.45 hrs
Sat. 29 Jun 2019-16.30 hrs
Fri. 5 Jul 2019-09.15 hrs
Mon. 8 Jul 2019-11.30 hrs
Wed. 10 Jul 2019-13.30 hrs
Fri. 12 Jul 2019-16.00 hrs
Fri. 19 Jul 2019-09.00 hrs
Mon. 22 Jul 2019-10.30 hrs
Wed. 24 Jul 2019-12.00 hrs
Thu. 25 Jul 2019-13.00 hrs
Mon. 29 Jul 2019-17.15 hrs
Mon. 5 Aug 2019-10.30 hrs
Wed. 7 Aug 2019-12.00 hrs
Fri. 9 Aug 2019-14.00 hrs
Mon. 12 Aug 2019-18.00 hrs
Mon. 19 Aug 2019-09.30 hrs
Thu. 22 Aug 2019-11.30 hrs
Fri. 23 Aug 2019-12.00 hrs
Mon. 26 Aug 2019-16.00 hrs
Wed. 4 Sep 2019-11.00 hrs
Sat. 7 Sep 2019-13.30 hrs
Mon. 9 Sep 2019-16.30 hrs
Mon. 16 Sep 2019-08.45 hrs
Wed. 18 Sep 2019-10.00 hrs
Sat. 21 Sep 2019-11.30 hrs

Facebook: Paardenvissers-Oostduinkerke

Location: Astridplein

Website: www.paardevissers.be

Location

marker Astridplein

Contact information organizer Shrimp Fishermen on horseback:

Toerisme Koksijde
e-mail: toerisme@koksijde.be

Other events in Oostduinkerke

calendar Shrimp Fishermen on horseback
June - September
calendar Walking tour in nature
 
calendar Light festival in Plopsaland
calendar New Year's Eve
calendar Shrimp festival and shrimp procession
Entire list